East African Northern Corridor lands to cut roaming fees 60%

Monday 11 August 2014 | 10:45 CET | News
Rwanda, Kenya, Uganda and South Sudan have agreed to cut roaming charges by 60 percent, reports KT Press. The countries forming the Northern Corridor have agreed on a regional telecommunications framework to establish a One Network Area by 31 December. During a recent summit in Rwanda, regional line ministries were directed to ensure the exemption of regional calls from surcharges applied by member states on international incoming calls. There should be no additional charges to subscribers on account of roaming within the region, and no charges for receiving calls while roaming.

Thank you for visiting Telecompaper

Sign up below to get access to the rest of this article and all the telecom news you need.

  • Register free and gain access to even more articles from Telecompaper. Register here
  • Subscribe and get unlimited access to Telecompaper’s full coverage, with a customised choice of news, commentary, research and alerts.


Already registered?

Categories: Mobile & Wireless
Countries: Kenya / Rwanda / South Sudan / Uganda
::: add a comment

Add comment

Please login or register to leave a comment.

We welcome comments that add value to the discussion. We attempt to block comments that use offensive language or appear to be spam, and our editors frequently review the comments to ensure they are appropriate. If you see a comment that you believe is inappropriate to the discussion, you can bring it to our attention by using the report abuse links. As the comments are written and submitted by visitors of the Telecompaper website, they in no way represent the opinion of Telecompaper.


Tanzania, Burundi could join East African roaming network

Published 24 Jan 2017 11:27 CET | Africa
The Communications Authority of Kenya Director General Francis Wangusi said five East African Community (EAC) member states ...

Tanzania to join East Africa One network area

Published 23 Sep 2015 10:55 CET | Tanzania, United Republic of
The Tanzania Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA) said the country will soon join the East Africa Community (EAC) One ...

Uganda mobile operators scrap roaming charges

Published 07 Jan 2015 14:40 CET | Uganda
Uganda's mobile operators have introduced lower tariffs for subscribers making calls in Rwanda, Kenya and South Sudan. This was ...

East African ministers want deal on terms to cut tariffs

Published 06 Oct 2014 10:49 CET | Kenya
Mobile phone operators across the East African region must agree on terms to reduce international and roaming tariffs to lower ...

East African countries reach deal on cross-border call rates

Published 17 Apr 2014 11:29 CET | Uganda
Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and South Sudan have agreed to revise their tax regimes to reduce cross-border calling rates in East ...

East Africa mulls lowering regional roaming charges

Published 18 Dec 2013 11:31 CET | Africa
Four East Africa countries have resolved to jointly explore lowering regional roaming charges. Ministers from Kenya, Rwanda, ...