Spark appoints Smyth as chairman, Verbiest to retire

Friday 18 August 2017 | 13:57 CET | News
Spark New Zealand has announced that Mark Verbiest, who has chaired its board of directors since December 2011, will retire later this year and will be succeeded by Justine Smyth. Verbiest will retire from the Spark board at the end of the Annual Meeting of shareholders in November this year. The Board has decided to appoint current director Justine Smyth as the new chair, effective 3 November. Smyth has extensive governance experience, including as the Chair of the Audit & Risk Management and Human Resources & Compensation Committees of Spark.

Thank you for visiting Telecompaper

Sign up below to get access to the rest of this article and all the telecom news you need.

  • Register free and gain access to even more articles from Telecompaper. Register here
  • Subscribe and get unlimited access to Telecompaper’s full coverage, with a customised choice of news, commentary, research and alerts.


Already registered?

Categories: General
Companies: Spark
Countries: New Zealand
::: add a comment

Add comment

Please login or register to leave a comment.

We welcome comments that add value to the discussion. We attempt to block comments that use offensive language or appear to be spam, and our editors frequently review the comments to ensure they are appropriate. If you see a comment that you believe is inappropriate to the discussion, you can bring it to our attention by using the report abuse links. As the comments are written and submitted by visitors of the Telecompaper website, they in no way represent the opinion of Telecompaper.


Spark renames Greenwood as independent director

Published 30 May 2019 11:21 CET | New Zealand
Following Greenwood's appointment as interim CEO of Russell McVeagh on 16 August 2018, Spark's board determined that she was no ...

Spark adds Greenwood to board

Published 14 Dec 2017 06:54 CET | New Zealand
New Zealand operator Spark has appointed Pip Greenwood as an independent non-executive director to its board, effective 1 April ...